Oregon Battle of the Books

What is Oregon Battle of the Books?


From the official Oregon Battle of the Books website
"The Oregon Battle of the Books (OBOB) is a statewide voluntary reading motivation and comprehension program. 
Students in 3rd-12th grade, regardless of ability, are exposed to quality literature representing a variety of literary styles and viewpoints.
OBOB’s mission is to encourage and recognize students who enjoy reading, to broaden reading interests, to increase reading comprehension, promote academic excellence, and to promote cooperative learning and teamwork among students."

What can you find at the Beaverton City Library for Oregon Battle of the Books?


  1. OBOB Book Club: 3-5
  2. Practice Battles: 3-5
  3. Find OBOB Books: 3-12

Register online one month before each book club.

Location Day Date Time Book Registration
Main Wednesday September 5 4-5 p.m. Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical Creatures Register Online
Main Wednesday September 19 4-5 p.m. Real Friends  Register Online
Main Wednesday October 3 4-5 p.m. Roller Girl Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday October 9 4-5 p.m. Waylon! One Awesome Thing Register Online
Main Wednesday October 17 4-5 p.m. The Infinity Year of Avalon James Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday October 23 4-5 p.m. A Whole New Ballgame Register Online
Main Wednesday November 7 4-5 p.m. The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday November 13 4-5 p.m. In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse Register Online
Main Wednesday November 21 3:30-4:30 p.m. The Wild Robot Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday November 27 4-5 p.m. Book Scavenger Register Online
Main Wednesday December 5 4-5 p.m. When the Sea Turned to Silver Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday December 11 4-5 p.m. Hana's Suitcase Register Online
Main Wednesday December 19 4-5 p.m. Ugly Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday January 8 4-5 p.m. George Register Online
Main Wednesday January 9 4-5 p.m. Waylon! One Awesome Thing Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday January 22 4-5 p.m. Nightbird Register Online
Main Wednesday January 23 4-5 p.m. A Whole New Ballgame Register Online
Main Wednesday February 6 4-5 p.m. Hana's Suitcase Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday February 12 4-5 p.m. Wish Register Online
Main Wednesday February 20 4-5 p.m. Book Scavenger Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday February 26 4-5 p.m. Practice Battle and Celebration Register Online
Main Wednesday March 6 4-5 p.m. Practice Battle and Celebration Register Online