If You Like Percy Jackson

Looking for an adventure of Olympian proportions? Read one of  these great books filled with otherworldly antics!
Image of Artemis Fowl Book Cover.
Artemis Fowl [Series]
Eoin Colfer (YA COLFER)
A twelve-year-old criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl, brings the fairy folk to their knees when he kidnaps one of their own. (Grades 6-8)
Image of The Maze Runner Book Cover.
The Maze Runner [Trilogy]
James Dashner (YA DASHNER)
Outside the safety of the Glade lies an enormous maze, populated by nightmarish perversions of technology. (Grades 6-10)
Image of City of Ember Book Cover.
City of Ember [Series]
Jeanne Duprau (YA DUPRAU)
Books of Ember Series. Lina & Doon must fulfill the prophecy and help everyone in town survive. So what if the townspeople are all trying to kill them? (Grades 6-8)
Image of Dark Life Book Cover.
Dark Life [Has a Sequel]
Kat Falls (YA FALLS)
Ty, who lives on the ocean floor, teams up with his topside girl to stop outlaws who threaten his home. But the government may pose a greater threat. (Grades 6-10)
Image of Sea of Trolls Book Cover.
Sea of Trolls [Series]
Nancy Farmer (YA FARMER)
If Jack’s sister had just stayed quiet, they wouldn’t have been captured by Vikings. Little sisters - so annoying! (Grades 6-9)
Image of Incarceron Book Cover.
Incarceron [Series]
Catherine Fisher (YA FISHER)
Flinn has lived his entire life inside the gigantic prison known as ‘Incarceron.’ Escape seems impossible...until he meets Claudia. (Grade 7+)
Image of The Ruins of Gorlan Book Cover.
The Ruins of Gorlan [Series]
John Flanagan (YA FLANAGAN)
Ranger’s Apprentice Series. 15-year-old Will joins the magic wielding rangers to battle against an evil warlord. (Grades 6-8)
Image of Tunnels Book Cover.
Tunnels [Series]
Roderick Gordon (YA GORDON)
"The Colony" is ruled by a cult-like overclass, the Styx. And before long—before he can find his father—Will is their prisoner… (Grades 6-9)
Image of The Glass Sentence Book Cover.
The Glass Sentence [Series]
S.E. Grove (YA GROVE)
Mapmakers series. The continents of the world have become different time periods. Sophia’s Uncle, and master cartologer, is kidnapped. She’ll need to traverse unchartered and dangerous lands in her search to find him.
(Grade 6+)
Image of The Mark of the Dragon Fly Book Cover.
Mark of the Dragonfly
Jaleigh Johnson (YA JOHNSON)
Piper has eked out a living as a scrapper in Merrow Kingdom, but the arrival of a mysterious girl sends her on a dangerous journey to distant lands. (Grades 6-9)
Image of Talon Book Cover.
Talon [Series]
Julie Kagawa (YA KAGAWA)
Trained to infiltrate the humans, Ember just wants to have fun in her final summer of freedom before joining the Talon, but destiny has another thing in store. (Grade 9+)
Image of The Colossus Rises Book Cover.
The Colossus Rises [Series]
Peter Lerangis (YA LERANGIS)
Seven Wonders Series. Seven pieces of power from Atlantis that disappeared long ago. Cass, Jack, Marco and Aly depend on them to save their lives. (Grades 6-9)
Image of Young Elites Book Cover.
The Young Elites [Series]
Marie Lu (YA LU)
Adelina survived the blood fever, an illness that killed many, but left others with strange supernatural powers. Cast out by her family, she joins a secret society called the Young Elites and discovers her own dangerous abilities. (Grade 8+)
Image of The Novice Book Cover.
The Novice [Series]
Taran Matharu (YA MATHARU)
When Fletcher, a blacksmith's apprentice, learns he can summon demons, he travels with his demon to an academy for adepts where he is to train as a Battlemage in the Empire's war against the orcs, but he discovers that all is not as it seems. (Grade 7+)
Image of Apothecary Book Cover.
The Apothecary [Series]
Maile Meloy (YA MELOY)
When the apothecary is kidnapped, Janie and Benjamin must uncover the secrets of the sacred Pharmacopoeia in order to find him and save the world. (Grades 6-8)
Image of A World Without Heroes Book Cover.
A World Without Heroes [Series]
Brandon Mull (YA MULL)
Beyonders Series. Jason and Rachel are pulled into the mysterious, troubled realm of Lyrian. All they want to do is get back to their own world, but they may have to stop evil wizard emperor Surroth first. (Grades 6-8)
Image of Mark of a Thief Book Cover.
Mark of the Thief [Series]
Jennifer Nielsen (YA NIELSEN)
When slave-boy Nic is forced to enter a cavern containing lost treasures, he discovers an amulet that belonged to the great Caesar and is filled with a magic once reserved for the Gods -- magic some Romans would kill for.
(Grades 6-9)
Image of The Flame of Olympus Book Cover.
The Flame of Olympus [Series]
Kate O’Hearn (YA O’HEARN)
Pegasus series. When Pegasus crashes onto her apartment roof, Emily finds herself in the middle of a war between Roman gods and the terrifying Nirads. (Grades 6-8)
Image of The Red Pyramid Book Cover.
The Red Pyramid [Trilogy]
Rick Riordan (YA RIORDAN)
The Kane Chronicles. The Percy Jackson author returns with an all-new adventure! Ancient Egyptian gods are preparing to wreak havoc on our world...and two young archaeologists could be humankind’s only hope!
(Grades 6-9)
Image of The Sword of Summer Book Cover.
The Sword of Summer [Series]
Rick Riordan (YA RIORDAN)
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series. Homeless Magnus discovers he is the son of a Norse god.
(Grade 6+)
Image of The Trials of Apollo Book Cover.
The Trials of Apollo [Series]
Rick Riordan (YA RIORDAN)
After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. He must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus's favor. (Grade 6+)
magyk.jpg
Magyk [Series]
Angie Sage (YA SAGE)
Lost as a child, Septimus Heap must reunite with his true family & learn the magyk arts. (Grades 6-8)
Image of The Alchemyst Book Cover.
The Alchemyst [Series]
Michael Scott (YA SCOTT)
The Immortal Secrets of Nicholas Flamel Series. Two teens are caught up in a battle between ancient alchemists looking for the secret of immortality. (Grades 6-9)
Image of I, Q Book Cover.
I, Q. [Series]
Roland Smith (YA SMITH)
Q and Angela have rock star parents who may know more about the dangerous world of spies and terrorists than they let on... (Grades 6-8)
Image of The Mysterious Benedict Society Book Cover.
The Mysterious Benedict Society [Series]
Trenton Lee Stewart (YA STEWART)
After passing a series of mind-bending tests, four children are selected for a secret mission that requires them to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.
(Grades 6-9)
Image of So This is How it Ends Book Cover.
So This Is How It Ends [Series]
Tui Sutherland (YA SUTHERLAND)
Avatars Series. During an earthquake in the year 2012, five teens are transported seventy-five years into the future, where the end of the world is imminent, and are drawn together by a mysterious force. (Grades 7-10)
Image of Leviathan Book Cover.
Leviathan [Trilogy]
Scott Westerfeld (YA WESTERFELD)
World War I is waged between the ‘Darwinists,’ with their fantastic genetically-altered creatures, and the ‘Clankers,’ who pilot giant robots. Aleksander and Deryn are caught in the middle! (Grade 7+)